Proverbs 20

25. It is a snare for a man to devote rashly
something as holy,
And afterward to reconsider his vows.

In the not-too-distant past I made a vow to serve God 24/7, without pay. Though I have not changed my mind, I have had a tendency to go off the clock. My love for the LORD is growing daily and my desire to serve Him is even greater than the day I made the pledge. It is better to never vow than it is to make a vow and then change one’s mind. My tendency has been to start a project and not finish it. I’ve had this tendency in all areas of my life all my life…diet, exercise…you name it. I am being shown the wrongness of that and I have a new attitude growing within me. I pledge to not hastily make a pledge of any kind in the future. A pledge made with god’s approval will be a pledge much easier for me to keep. Though it may not be a spiritual thing to stop an exercise program or drop out of a club, et cetera, it does signify a pattern in my life which I have “not hastily” pledged to turn around.

Once the LORD tells us what He wants us to do, we should do that until and unless He tells us to do differently. Sometimes I wonder why God hangs in with me. But He does because He is faithful. and I want to be faithful to Him.

My prayer this morning is Habakkuk 3:19 Amplied.
“The LORD God is my Strength, my personal bravery,
and my invincible army; He makes my feet like hinds’ feet
and will make me to walk [not to stand still in terror, but to walk]
and make [spiritual] progress upon my high places
[of trouble, suffering, or responsibility]!

Leave a comment